Professor Johnny M POON

Associate Vice-President (Interdisciplinary Research)

2021DL_0268_web_revamp_Prof_Poon_2_reduce 2021DL_0268_web_revamp_Prof_Poon_2_reduce

From the day Professor Johnny Poon set foot in academia, through his years as an accomplished musician, a devoted teacher, and an impassioned academic leader, he remains a vehement advocate for academic research – a panacea that acts as an agent of change in an increasingly complex world. As Associate Vice-President (Interdisciplinary Research), he oversees the development of six interdisciplinary research laboratories, exemplifying the University’s commitment to create the best conditions for generating groundbreaking research for society.

 

In his own research, Professor Poon focuses on interdisciplinary projects that would break traditional artistic and disciplinary boundaries. He aims to invent radical concepts, techniques and advance the future of creative practice that would help enhance the ways people think, express and communicate ideas and emotions. Recently, he has contributed to the rediscovery and a modern adaptation of an 18th century opera by Antonio Caldara. This research delivers the first performance edition of the opera since its premiere in 1735, and it gives voice to the actual sound of the music that was previous unknown to scholars and modern audience. He further expands the artistic property of this opera by designing a new performance model that puts the historical text of this centuries-old music within a larger time and cultural continuum through new interfaces of dance, theatre, visual media, and AI technologies.

Of his professional practice, he has maintained a highly successful career as a conductor, appearing regularly in concert halls across the globe including Carnegie Hall in New York, Glinka Cappella Hall in Russia and National Centre for the Performing Arts in Beijing. He has conducted such ensembles as Moscow State Philharmonic Orchestra, St. Petersburg State Capella Orchestra, Sudestdeutsche Philharmonie, Kammarkoren Svenska Roster, Kammerchor Stuttgart, Slezske Divadlo Opava, Opera Hong Kong, Sinfonica dell’ international Chamber Ensemble, New England Symphonic Ensemble, Taiwan Baroque Camerata, Xiamen Philharmonic Orchestra, Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra, and the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra.  Previously, he held positions as Director of Opera at University of Evansville (USA), Music Director of Evansville Collegium Musicum (USA), Associate Conductor of OperaFestival di Roma (Italy) and Artistic Director of Harlaxton International Chamber Music Festival (UK).

During his 10-year service as Head of the Department of Music, Professor Poon has spearheaded major performance, research, curriculum and development projects, making the Department synonymous with quality in teaching and research. In addition to teaching and research, Professor Poon plays an indispensable role in capital works projects, in terms of fundraising and planning of physical spaces. Examples included the renovation of the Department of Music and its relocation to Sing Tao Building; new teaching and recording studios in David C. Lam Building; and now the design of the new Creative Hub in the Jockey Club Campus of Creativity to be completed in 2024. His contribution to HKBU extends beyond the departmental level, particularly by serving as Acting Dean of Arts and Convenor of the Creative Media/Practice Research Cluster.

Professor Poon serves in a number of committees and advisory boards, including Curriculum Development Committee on Key Learning Areas (Arts Education), Education Bureau; Programme and Development Committee of Leisure and Cultural Services Department; and Hong Kong Arts Development Council. He is Chairman of the Advisory Committee for the Division of Cultural and Creativity at United International College, Zhuhai, and Artistic Advisor of Macao Orchestra. He also serves on panels for various organisations, accreditation reviews and award schemes. He is an elected Fellow of the Hong Kong Academy of the Humanities.

潘明伦教授

协理副校长(跨学科研究)

2021DL_0268_web_revamp_Prof_Poon_2_reduce 2021DL_0268_web_revamp_Prof_Poon_2_reduce

自踏足学术界,潘明伦教授不但音乐成就超卓,致力春风化雨,作为学术领袖更大力推动研究,为这个复杂多变的世界提供解决问题的良方。身兼浸大协理副校长(跨学科研究),潘教授正监督六个跨学科研究实验室的工作,创造最佳条件助大学为社会开展突破性研究。

潘教授注重跨学科研究项目,积极冲破传统艺术和学科的界限,以根本性的概念与技术,推动创造性实践,促进人们思考、表达意念及交流情感。他最新的研究便重新探索并改编了安东尼奥•卡尔达拉(Antonio Caldara)18世纪的歌剧,促成了该作品自1735年公演以来首个演出版本,不但为学者和现代听众带来前所未闻的真实音效,更设计了新的表演模式,通过舞蹈、戏剧、视觉媒体和人工智能,将这具数百年历史的音乐体裁放到更宽阔的时间和文化连续体内,进一步开拓其艺术属性。

 

潘教授也是一位出色的专业指挥家,定期于全球各地的音乐厅演出,包括美国纽约卡内基音乐厅;俄罗斯的格林卡卡佩拉音乐厅、北京的国家大剧院等;又于国际知名乐团担任客席指挥,如莫斯科国立爱乐交响乐团、圣彼得堡国立交响乐团、西南德爱乐乐团、瑞典室乐团、司徒加室内合唱团、捷克西里西亚并国立歌剧院乐团、香港歌剧院、荷拿爱乐乐团、新英格兰交响乐团、台湾巴洛克独奏家乐团、厦门爱乐乐团、深圳交响乐团及香港管弦乐团等。他曾于伊凡斯维尔大学担任歌剧总监(美国)、伊凡斯维尔巴赫古乐团艺术及音乐总监(美国)、罗马歌剧节副指挥(意大利)和哈拉克斯顿国际室内音乐节(英国)的艺术总监。

潘教授担任音乐系系主任的十年间,策划了多个重大演出、研究、课程及发展计划,令该系的教研素质备受认同。潘教授对浸大贡献非凡,除了教研,还参与校园建设,在筹款和空间规划上发挥了不可或缺的作用,例如星岛楼的翻新与音乐系的迁入、思齐楼新建的教学设施及录音室以及为于2024年落成的赛马会创意校园设计全新的「点子坊」。潘教授的贡献超越学系层面,尤见其担任文学院署理院长及创意媒体重点研究领域召集人。

潘教授曾出任多个委员会和顾问委员会,包括教育局重点学习领域课程发展委员会(艺术教育)、康乐及文化事务署节目与发展委员会、香港艺术发展局等。他亦是珠海联合国际学院文化创意学部咨询委员会主席及澳门乐团艺术顾问。他还为各类组织、认证评审与奖励计划担任小组委员。潘教授亦获选为香港人文学院院士。