Professor GUO Yike

Vice-President (Research and Development)

2021DL_0314_Prof_Guo_Yike_2_reduce 2021DL_0314_Prof_Guo_Yike_2_reduce

Professor Guo Yike, a Fellow of the Royal Academic of Engineering (FRENG), was appointed as the Vice-President (Research and Development) of Hong Kong Baptist University on 1 January 2020. Prof Guo is Professor of Computing Science in the Department of Computing at Imperial College London since 2002.    Before joining Hong Kong Baptist University,  Prof Guo was the founding Director of the Data Science Institute at Imperial College since 2014, which is one of the six Imperial College Global Challenge Institutes.  He is also a Member of Academia Europaea (MAE), Fellow of British Computer Society (FBCS). 

 

Professor Guo obtained his first-class honours degree in Computing Science from Tsinghua University, China, in 1985 and received his PhD from Imperial College in 1993. In 1999, Prof Guo founded InforSense Limited, an Imperial College spin-off software company specialized in big data analysis for life science and medicine. He has rich experience in entrepreneurship and industrial collaboration.

Professor Guo’s main research interests lie in the field of machine learning and large-scale data management and has contributed to numerous major research projects.  He is now the investigator of several major data science projects in UK and Europe including the €47M project of Idea-Fast in digital biomarker discovery for neurodegenerative diseases. Professor Guo has published over 250 articles.  He had won the “Most Innovative Data Intensive Application Award” at the Supercomputing 2002 conference for Discovery Net, the Bio-IT World "Best Practices Award" for U-BIOPRED in 2014 and the "Best Open Source Software Award" from ACM SIGMM in 2017.

郭毅可教授

副校长(研究及拓展)

2021DL_0314_Prof_Guo_Yike_2_reduce 2021DL_0314_Prof_Guo_Yike_2_reduce

郭毅可教授,英国皇家工程院院士,于2020年1月1日获委任为香港浸会大学副校长(研究及拓展)。郭教授自2002年起担任英国帝国理工学院计算系教授 并2014年起担任帝国理工资料科学研究所所长。他也是欧洲科学院院士 (MAE),英国电脑学会院士 (FBCS)。

郭教授于1985年获得清华大学计算科学一级荣誉学位,1993年获得帝国理工学院计算机科学博士学位。 1999年,郭教授创立了帝国学院衍生企业数据分析平台公司InforSense Limited,专门从事生命科学和医学的大资料分析。他有丰富的创业与工业界合作的经验。

 

郭教授的主要研究兴趣在于机器学习和大规模资料管理领域,并为许多重大研究专案作出了贡献。他现在是英国和欧洲的几个主要资料科学专案的研究者,包括Idea-Fast 4700万欧元 神经退行性疾病的生物标记探索研究项目。郭教授发表了超过250篇学术研究文章。他曾在2002年国际超级计算会议获 “最具创新奖”;   2014年获国际生物信工业的顶级会议Bio-IT World 的 “最佳实践奖”;   2017年获美国ACM SIGMM多媒体专委会年度”最佳开源软件奖”。